Daily Prompt – Sweet Sixteen – You can always have fun

The idea of having a birthday soon did not really excite me when I was fifteen, due to turn sixteen shortly. Every year the couple of months leading up to my birthday was so exciting. Getting to choose presents, flick through the Argos catalogue circling things I want, and most of all.. party planning!

When I was younger I absolutely loved arranging parties with my parents, writing out invites to send to my friends and making up party bags! Such excitement would always rush through me and I would have a little piece of paper next to my bed ready to tick off each day leading up to my birthday.

For some reason though, turning sixteen just felt different. Rather than planning a party I decided not to do anything, and from what I remember there was not loads of things I asked for either. You’re probably wondering why this was.. But to tell you the truth, I don’t know why. If you asked me four years ago when I turned sixteen, I may have had an answer for you, but a lot has happened since then so I honestly cannot remember.

But my day was still perfect, even if I did not have my traditional routine. I spent the day with my family and unwrapping presents, and then the evening with my two best friends. We didn’t really do much – just chilled out in my house having a chatter. However, it was all I needed.

I realised you don’t need to have a big party to have fun. No matter what you do, as long as you have family and friends around you that is all that matters 🙂

xoxo

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/daily-prompt-sixteen/ 

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – Sweet Sixteen – You can always have fun

  1. Pingback: Sweet Sixteen | The Story of a Guy

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Sweet Sixteen | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  4. Pingback: Bizarrely, strange… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | To Breathe is to Write

  6. Pingback: Bert Was A Thief (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | A Room of One's Own

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | The Wandering Poet

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  10. Pingback: Not so sweet sixteen | A mom's blog

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | Writing Canvas

  12. Pingback: And this is why I lose my memories… | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

