Daily Prompt – twist – Suspicious minds

It had been four months since I first got suspicious about my partner. We had been together for about 7 years and shared a son, Jeremy, together. We were in love and had always had a healthy sex life. Four months ago, David started coming home from work late. When I kept asking him why he was late he was always very shady about it and told me to stop being so paranoid. A few weeks later, he wasn’t very interested in making love to me or kissing me anymore. I felt deeply offended and humiliated, worried that he didn’t find me attractive anymore. And again, when I asked him why he doesn’t want to have sex he would always use the excuse, “I’m too tired, I’ve had a busy day”.

It was getting ridiculous and deeply upsetting. Things weren’t how they used to be and I was determined to save my relationship. I tried to convince myself over and over that nothing was going on behind my back and that I was just being paranoid, but I just couldn’t help myself. I was so scared.

I couldn’t go on like this anymore so I made a decision to hire a private investigator to keep an eye on David and report back to me. It seemed like a good idea and the only way I was going to get some honest answers. After searching for their number on the internet, I rang them up and they were very helpful – so helpful that Mandy, the private investigator, was ready to start on the following Monday. I was thrilled it was set up so quickly and it made me even more eager to find out what was going on with my partner.

Over the next couple of weeks I felt so nervous and uptight. Mandy would privately report back to me every two days of what David had been up to. Nothing. He had been totally innocent. According to Mandy, things were looking dodgy for David at work which is why he was staying later than he was meant to every night, which probably explains why he was shady and uninterested in sex because he was so stressed with things on his mind. None the less, Mandy carried on the investigation for a further month – 6 weeks in total.

The six weeks were up and there had still been no suspicious reporting’s, so Mandy stated that she had no reason to carry on the investigation further. I was over the moon. Everything added up and I felt somewhat guilty that I had been secretly accusing him all along! I popped to the local shop and got a bottle of Bucks Fizz (David’s favourite drink) to celebrate the occasion. Obviously he had no idea what the celebration was about, but that didn’t matter. I could just tell him I wanted to cheer him up because he’s been stressed lately.

Oh, did I mention David is the boss of the local estate agents? Well, he is! It was 5.15pm and I headed into the shop and up the stairs towards his office. His staff had already gone home by now, after their 5pm finish, so I knew it wouldn’t be a problem for me to go up.

Tingling with excitement ready to surprise him, I turned the handle on his office door. But the sight I saw inside was mortifying. I fell weak and sick.. My heart broke into a million pieces.

There in front of me, sat on David’s lap in nothing but her red laced knickers, was Mandy, the private investigator.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/09/daily-prompt-surprise/

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – twist – Suspicious minds

  1. Pingback: Sprint for the Stars | Brianne Writes

  2. Pingback: Handful of Stars #poetry #photography | Moondustwriter's Blog

  3. Pingback: ESCAPE | hastywords

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: What a Twist! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Life’s Tragedy | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: A Beautiful, Intimidating Twist | Sogna Grandezza

  7. Pingback: London surprises Paris | Mareship

  8. Pingback: An Unexpected Reunion | The Silver Leaf Journal

  9. Pingback: What if the end was near? | Okay, what if ?

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Twist | Tommia's Tablet

  11. Pingback: The Luxury of Choice. | Expressions

Leave a Reply

